top of page

Stages 1 - 4

Declining kidney function generally has no obvious symptoms and it is imperative to have regular bloodwork done at your General Practitioner's office. When declining kidney function is diagnosed, we recommend immediate referral to our specialists to ensure early onset of kidneys failure is prevented. There are five stages of chronic kidney disease

Stage 1 is the closest to healthy kidney function and Stage 5 requires dialysis or a kidney transplant.


​The stages of chronic kidney disease are determined by the glomerular filtration rate. Glomerular filtration (GFR) is the process by which the kidneys filter the blood, removing excess wastes and fluids. GFR is a calculation that determines how well the blood is filtered by the kidneys. It is a one way to measure kidney function.


Find out your stage of kidney disease here: eGFR Calculator | National Kidney Foundation  

Stage 1 with normal or high GFR (GFR > 90 mL/min)

Stage 2 Mild CKD (GFR = 60-89 mL/min)

Stage 3A Moderate CKD (GFR = 45-59 mL/min)

Stage 3B Moderate CKD (GFR = 30-44 mL/min)

Stage 4 Severe CKD (GFR = 15-29 mL/min)

Stage 5 End Stage CKD (GFR <15 mL/min)

bottom of page